Avansa Travel Agency Dubrovnik, your partner in Dubrovnik
 
 
You are here: TRAVEL GUIDE General Info DUBROVNIK COUNTRYSIDE Rijeka Dubrovačka
 
 

Rijeka Dubrovačka

rijeka-dubrovvacka Immediately in front of the entrance into the Dubrovnik northwestern harbor Gruž is a 5km deep and ranging from 200 to 400 meters wide bay which in reality is the flooded mouth of the river Ombla. Since as late as the Middle Ages place was still designated Rijeka (river). This is the reason that the bay is called Rijeka Dubrovačka.....


Immediately in front of the entrance into the Dubrovnik northwestern harbor Gruž is a 5km deep and ranging from 200 to 400 meters wide bay which in reality is the flooded mouth of the river Ombla. Since as late as the Middle Ages place was still designated Rijeka (river). This is the reason that the bay is called Rijeka Dubrovačka. Protected by the vicinity of the city, navigable along its whole length, with an abundance of drinking wate, it was an almost ideal place for the building of summer houses by the Dubrovnik nobility. A large number of summer houses were built in the 16th century in the Gothic-Renaissance and the Renaissance style. Some received Baroque features in the restoration after the great earthquake in 1667. In Komolac, on the left bank side, stands the most monumental one, of the Sorkočević family which in addition to its size is characterized by the monumental stairway which leads from the sea to the first floor terrace. At the end of the 15th century, ate the source of the Ombla river nearby Komolac, the Dubrovnik builder Paskoja Miličević built a dam with mills as well as refinery of copper in 1507. On the right bank today we have the Dubrovnik suburban community of Mokošica which, with its massive residental blocks, has in a large part destroyed the original impression of the lanscape on which were built the summer houses of Bunić, Zuzorić, Ranjina, Gučetić-Đorđević and zamanja families. In Rožat, alongside the seashore, is the Franciscan monastery of the Announciation raised at the end of the 14th century and reconstructed in the 18th century. Nearby is the summer house Rastić. The summer house of the Božidarević family is in Čajkovići while in nearby Sustjepan is the Romanesque church of St. Stephen.
The construction of the Adriatic highway throught this region cut off many of these brilliant examples of Dubrovnik summer house architecture from the sea and destroyed their natural surroundings. In 2002. a bridge was built over the entrance into Rijeka Dubrovačka and  has in large part redirected the traffic towards Dubrovnik.